Pinjarra Cup

Taking place as one of the biggest events in country Western Australian racing, the 2015 Pinjarra Cup is a Listed level race offering $120,000 in prize money.

Run over 2300 metres, the Pinjarra Cup tests the best country runners in the west as well as a number of metropolitan stayers who make the 100 kilometre trip south to compete in the black-type event.Pinjarra Cup

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

While there is also a pacing event called the Pinjarra Cup, the thoroughbred race is open to horses aged three years and upwards.

It is not uncommon to see horses that have featured in Group 1 events at the Perth Summer Racing Carnival contest the Pinjarra Cup.

With a lack of black-type staying races in Perth during the autumn, many horses arrive at the Pinjarra Cup on the back of the Listed Bunbury Cup which typically takes place two weeks earlier.

Some high class horses have won the Pinjarra Cup including Rogan Josh who won in 1998 before going on to win the Melbourne Cup a year later.

The 2012 Pinjarra Cup was won by veteran gelding Lords Ransom who previously took out the event in 2008.

Pinjarra Cup Facts

  • When: Late March/Early April Annually
  • Where: Pinjarra Racecourse, Western Australia
  • Sex: Open
  • Distance: 2300 metres
  • Prize Money: $120,000

Pinjarra Racecourse

Host of the Pinjarra Cup, Pinjarra Racecourse, is a high quality country race track that hosts regular race meetings throughout the year.

With Western Australia experiencing fine, warm weather for much of the year, the track is typically in great condition for racing.

The track is 1837 metres in circumference and has a straight that is 336 metres long.

Pinjarra Pacing Cup

The Pinjarra Pacing Cup is a major event on the harness racing calendar and takes place at Pinjarra Paceway.

Offering $40,000 in prize money, the pacing version of the Pinjarra Cup was first run in 1955 and is a sought after title in Western Australian harness racing.